A note on Political Apathy.

Yesterday, I wrote a piece about my own hypocrisy with regard to Brexit. I didn’t campaign but I managed to vote. It seems that only 36% of 18-24 year olds managed to do even that basic thing. 36%! I don’t care if you hate politics, if you can’t be bothered to get off your tuchas and vote, then you have no right to complain about the consequences. Oh and also I think you’re a moron.

No ifs and no buts. You well and truly fucked it. That right to live, and work freely in 27 other nations, gone. That nice cushy grad scheme you worked for, gone. That holiday you were planning but is now too expensive, gone. Your selfishness and apathy is infuriating. So you blame it on the oldies, and believe me, yesterday I was doing the same thing . But they turned out and voted to the tune of 75%. Where were you? Glastonbury. That’s right.

We lost this referendum because young people didn’t turn out. So even if the old are cranks and bigots at least they care about their outdated views and pre-empire Windrush vision. You obviously didn’t.

Now live with it.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

